Bonzai3d | Version History

Bonzai3d | Version History

 

 

Requires Maxwell Render 3 (3.2.1.4) (or greater) and Bonzai3d 3.2.4 (or greater).

 

v 3.2.1.7

Fixes

  • Corrected licensing irregularity affecting some users

v 3.2.1.6

Changes

  • Added option for Physical Sky / Sky Dome sun to follow the position of any formZ Distant light (Light Parameters Dialog)

  • Convert to Render Boolean option added in Object Attributes

  • "Allow Snap to Previous Placements" option added to the Maxwell Reference Place tool (Tool Options Palette)

  • Update to Maxwell 3.2.1.5 binaries

Fixes

  • Fixed issue where Scatter and Grass Modifier definition names could be changed while editing other modifier parameters

  • Fixed issue where Create MXS tool would crash in some circumstances

  • Lat-Long Stereo Lens "Parallax Distance" parameter units now correct

v 3.2.1.4

Changes

  • Option to enable/disable Base MXS animation scheme (Display > Display Options > Maxwell > Scene Tab)

  • When Base MXS animation option enabled, option to always include component meshes in the animated frames, allowing Components to 'Align to View' properly (Display > Display Options > Maxwell > Scene Tab)

  • New pulldown menu in Fire palette to specify the active view or any previously saved view. (Palettes > Maxwell Fire)

  • Completely rewritten Object Modifier backend (Extensions > Maxwell Render> Object Modifiers...)

  • New Rendertime rounding/beveling object modifier (Extensions > Maxwell Render > Object Modifiers...)

  • New UI for Blocked Emitters (Extensions > Maxwell Render > Object Modifiers...)

  • New Material hints: "Fast," "Fastest," "Glass Low Reflectivity," "Nickel," "Chromium," "Iron" (Palettes > Material Parameters > Maxwell representation)

  • Material Hints Optimized (To match hints in previous versions of the plugin, adjust "Hint Version" in Extensions > Maxwell Render > Project Settings...)

  • Material Hints in the first category ("Matte" though "Industrial Coating") are ordered from most efficient to least. (Palettes > Material Parameters > Maxwell representation)

  • Any materials using the deprecated hint "Closest Match" are upgraded to the new "Fast" Hint. "Closest Match" is now obsolete

  • New "Ambient Field" light type for flooding interiors with soft, diffused light. (Palettes > Lights)

  • Added 'Blur' parameter for Cone light types (Cone Light > Maxwell representation > Parameters tab)

  • Maxwell Sea animation option (Sea parameters > Animate)

  • MXS Reference objects now adopt the name of the MXS scene (in the Objects palette)

  • Additional Layers Export option: Duplicate (Layer) Structure (Display > Display Options > Maxwell > Scene Tab)

  • Plugin Log option to show only warnings and errors (Extensions > Maxwell Render > Log)

  • Plugin Log now shows the layer path and group path for problem objects (Extensions > Maxwell Render > Log)

Fixes

  • Scatter "Orient Toward Z+" parameter now labeled correctly

  • Scatter in animations working correctly again

  • Components facing view in Fire now render properly

  • Render Area Rectangle works correctly when Image Options set to 'Use Custom Size' and rendering dimensions are larger than viewport

  • Fixed regression where animations with non-animated Referenced MXS objects would not render

  • In Material Parameters palette, missing referenced MXMs are searched for when 'Preview' and 'Update shaded' buttons are clicked

  • Brackets removed from default view name "<Current View>", as these were reported to cause an issue with Rebus renderfarm

  • Object Modifier definitions copy between projects properly

  • Fixed crash when displaying Maxwell Log with extremely long filepaths

  • Fixed crash when adjusting auto-translated emitter material, when applied to multiple objects and Fire enabled

  • Package For Renderfarm works more than once per session

  • Frosted Glass Hint works with color bitmaps

  • Package For Renderfarm works more than once per session (Windows only)

  • Fixed occasional unresponsive UI when updating material preview (Windows only)

v 3.2.0.4

Changes

  • Improved responsiveness and faster refresh rates in plugin Fire

  • Compatibility with Maxwell 3.2.0.0

  • Latitude-Longitude Stereo and Fish Stereo lens support

  • Layered Photoshop output

  • Nested Dielectrics support for autotranslated materials (Maxwell Material > Translate Shaded > Nested Priority)

  • Reflectance Channel option (object color without GI)

  • Grass grow toward world-up percentage

  • Scatter random uniform scaling option

  • Scatter "grow toward world-up" percentage parameter

  • Option to eliminate intersecting Scattered instances

Fixes

  • When Extra Sampling is enabled, but no Custom Channel or bitmap mask has been selected, a warning is posted to the plugin log

v 3.1.1.6

Changes

  • New 'Alpha Channels' interface for creating alpha channels from any combination of layers, objects, and materials. Replaces 'Layer Channels' feature. (Maxwell Display Options, Image Tab )

  • Extra Sampling support.

  • Scenes with Referenced MXS now render significantly faster.

  • MXS References can be non-uniformly and negatively scaled during placement, and edited after via the RMXS scale parameter. (Pick Tool Options, Parameters tab )

  • Optimized and improved Autotranslated material hints for AGS and metals. (To match hints in previous versions of the plugin, adjust "Hint Version" in Extensions > Maxwell Render > Project Settings...)

  • Added "Frosted Glass" material hint

  • Added "Mirror" material hint

  • Option to make all objects with Autotranslated AGS Glass hidden from Global Illumination. (Maxwell Display Options, Scene Tab )

  • Option to randomize Autotranslated material ID colors. (Extensions > Maxwell Render > Project Settings...)

  • Option to change all Autotranslated materials to 'Matte' or 'Realistic Match' in one go. (Extensions > Maxwell Render > Project Settings...)

  • Added additional 'hide' flags to Lights

  • Additional "Vertical Ratio parameter" in Maxwell Sea allows for more control of calm seas

Fixes

  • Referenced MXS placed at the world origin (0,0,0) will now render correctly.

  • Geometry is no longer clipped when in axonometric views with certain view parameters.

  • Framing corrected in axonometic views with certain view parameters. (If a saved view appears incorrect in Fire, enable Fire-- or export the scene-- then save the view again.)

  • Certain imported objects from Sketchup no longer cause export errors.

  • Channel files written in format/bit depth as specified in image pulldown.

  • Grass and Scatter Density parameter now converted correctly when preset is loaded into project with different units.

  • Grass MXM file selector now works correctly even if existing path is invalid.

v 3.1.0.4

Changes

  • Improved Cone light translation. Faster, more accurate, and eliminates issue where shroud geometry could intersect objects in some cases. Also, new falloff type parameter.

  • Improved IES light translation with simplified parameters.

  • Improved Projector light allows setting intensity via emitter luminance.

  • Option to export scene by Layers. (Maxwell Render Options > Scene Tab)

  • Added options for 'floating shadows' and 'floating reflections' in Fire. Useful for quick compositing with IBL background. (Fire Preferences)

  • Increased Fire back buffer maximum resolution to 2K pixels. (Fire Preferences)

  • Added button to release the plugin's Maxwell license. (Extensions > Maxwell Render > System Settings...)

  • Added support for HDTV and ACES color spaces. (Maxwell Render Options > Image Tab)

  • Added camera White Balance, Tint, and Sharpness controls. (Maxwell Render Options > Image Tab)

  • Added camera response presets (Maxwell Render Options > Camera Tab)

  • Added menu of common exposure presets (Maxwell Render Options > Camera Tab)

  • New option to mirror textures when using Autotranslated materials. (Material Parameters > Maxwell representation > 'Translate Shaded')

  • Added 'Hide from Camera in Shadow Channel' option. (Maxwell Object Attributes)

Fixes

  • Fixed issue where 'Edit in MXED' button would not work in some cases

  • 'Package for Renderfarm' and 'Workstation Transfer' commands can again be executed more than once per session.

  • Projector Light image map can be loaded more than once per session.

  • openGL 'Shaded' bitmaps created from RenderZone procedural textures now exported properly to Maxwell.

  • Fixed translation of Renderzone procedural bump maps.

  • If 'Scale Model' mode is enabled, MXS References are now correctly scaled.

v 3.0.1.7

Fixes

  • Extensions crash in Fire fixed (OSX only)

  • File dialog now displayed correctly in "Export MXM" and Object Modifiers Save/Open contexts

v 3.0.1.6

Fixes

  • Extensions crash in Fire fixed (OSX only)

  • File dialog now displayed correctly in "Export MXM" and Object Modifiers Save/Open contexts

  • Fixed lag in materials palette when Maxwell Render Suite is unlicensed or not installed.

  • Smooth Shading translation improved

  • Plugin will no longer search for missing MXMs when scene 'Material Override' is enabled

  • Smooth shading improved for some cases

  • Fixed crash when converting certain 6 Symbol libraries to Components

Changes

  • Built with Maxwell 3.0.1.3 SDK

  • Density parameter added to "Field 3d" Volumetric Type

  • Low Dynamic range images can now be used in IBL

v 3.0.1.0

Changes

  •  Built with updated SDK

  • Shift Lens values no longer restricted to +/-100%

Fixes

  • Temperature/RGB specification for sun now stored

  • Projector Light now loads correct image types (Windows only)

v 3.0.0.11

Changes

  •  Light Names shortened; easier to read in multilight

Fixes

  • MXS Reference Place tool viewport proxies aligned correctly in all cases

  • IBL Light, when used in Detail mode now works correctly when paths for some channels are not set.

  • Scatter "Up (+)" option corrected

  • Restored Save & Load Physical Sky definitions

v 3.0.0.10

Changes

  •  New “MXS Create” Tool for making MXS references from selected objects. MXS created is automatically loaded into the “MXS Place” tool.

  • MXS Reference objects are now duplicated as Instances within the Maxwell scene.

  • MXS Reference objects now created with snapping off by default, to avoid placing them on one another

  • Support for approximating "2D Perspective" views with Maxwell's Shift Lens. Due to inherent differences between "2D Perspective" and "Shift Lens," this does not provide an identical match, but rather a starting point for cropping, which can be readily refined in Fire.

  • Scatter definitions now have three density specification options:

    • Number of instances per area unit (sqft or m2)

    • Number of instances per object

    • One instance every n area units (sqft or m2)

  • New option for unique scatter random seed per object

  • New option to tag the name of any objects which cause export errors, to make finding those objects easier

  • 'Matte' and 'Shadow Matte' options available for Autotranslated materials

  • Improved search for missing bitmap files referenced by materials

Fixes

  • Referenced MXS display as points crash fixed (Issue on Windows only)

  • Plugin Log interface restored

  • Scatter Seed bounds now correctly enforced

  • 8192x8192 resolution available for Maxwell Sea

  • License checking improved

  • Proxy previews for MXS references with transforms modified in Studio appear correctly

  • Loading previously exported Grass and Scatter definitions more reliable

  • Autotranslating materials with reflection set to "Constant" now works correctly

v 3.0.0.5

Changes

  •  Pulldown in Render Options, Image tab allows for isolating diffuse or reflections components in rendering

Fixes

  •  Proxy display of metric MXS references now correct

  • Fire now updates immediately when adjustments made to lights, scatter, and several other contexts.

  • Eliminated potential crash with Scatter when no object specified

  • Manual Filepaths" option now works correctly

v 3.0.0.4

Changes

  • Fire

    • Faster Fire interaction; full re-voxelization now unnecessary in many cases.

  • Views

    • Axonometric and Orthographic view types supported

    • Additional Camera Types: Pinhole, Fisheye, Spherical, and Cylindrical

  • Maxwell Scatter Object Modifier

    • Randomly distributes MXS scene references upon any object (e.g., plants on an undulating ground plane)

    • Complex scenes may be built with no penalty on your memory or file size.

    • Load/Save scatter definitions for reuse

  • Maxwell Reference Object Type

    • Tool to place MXS scene references

    • Multiple options for random scaling and rotation, dynamic placement along surface normal, etc.

    • Massive MXSs take up very little memory / disk space in your project

    • Bounding box or proxy points display

  • Maxwell Sea Object Type

    • Generate bodies of water within

    • Sea placement tool

  • Maxwell Volumetric Object Type

    • Render haze, fog, and underwater suspended particulate effects

    • Volumetric placement tool

  • Layer Channels

    • Allow making custom alpha channels from any number of Layers for fast and easy adjustment and compositing

    • Option to merge alpha layers

  • Lights

    • New image "Projector" light type, with parameters of field angle, spin, etc.

  • Materials

    • New "Wireframe" Material

    • New "Matte" Material

    • Translate 'Shaded' with map alpha channel now supports negative roughness values. (Texture map is inverted if parameter is less than 0.)

    • 'Is Emitter' setting is no longer necessary for referenced emitter materials

  • Object Attributes

    • Backface culling (single-sided surface display)

    • Backface Material (specify material for the back side of objects)

    • Object Transparency control

  • Environment

    • New Sun Radius Factor allows for softer sun shadows.

    • Sun Color by RGB option.

  • Render Text Overlay

    • Custom text + more than a dozen options to display filename, view, SL achieved, etc.

  • Scale Model

    • Render scene as a scaled architectural model for enhanced depth-of-field effects

    • Options for common architectural scale factors following the metric 1-2-5 rule, and fractional inches-to-foot for imperial projects